BPuhl’s Blog

A little bit of everything without actually being much of anything

Did you see my blog? (let me e-mail it to you)

Posted by BPuhl on May 8, 2008

There is this fascinating trend internally at Microsoft.  Well…ok…maybe not fascinating, but definitely a trend!

A while back, faced with the “Mini-Microsoft’s” and “Scobles” of the world, the powers that be decided to set up internal blogs, where people could post things for other employees, without necessarily airing our dirty laundry to the rest of the world (what fun that would be, I have no idea).  Many of the managers have picked up on this, and periodically will post about something that’s going on in the org.

The interesting trend though, is that in addition to posting their blog – they also e-mail the content, usually with the subject line similar to “Hey, I’ve posted something new to my blog!”, to everyone in their org.

The part of blogs that I like the most, is the – “If you don’t like, don’t read it” – mentality that you can have.  This was one of the reasons that I moved my blog from TechNet to WordPress, so I could eliminate the expectations that every post had to be technical or about AD or something like that…It’s empowering to be able to rant, vent, or observe random things and then write about them.  But I wouldn’t ever send out e-mails to all of my friends telling them that I posted something new.  That’s what RSS is for…

and seriously, if I didn’t want to read the blog post before you sent me a mail…I’m most certainly not going to want to read it afterwards…

One Response to “Did you see my blog? (let me e-mail it to you)”

  1. Laura said

    Yes, but the real question is: do they send the “Did you read my blog?” email using the red exclamationy-high priority flag, and requesting a Read receipt?

    (If the answer to that question is “Yes”, then the offender needs to be impaled by a sharp object until s/he is very simply…dead. :-))

Leave a Reply

 
