BPuhl’s Blog

A little bit of everything without actually being much of anything

Windows Live Writer Support

Posted by BPuhl on January 7, 2008

Argh – Ok, just because I’m an employee, doesn’t mean that I’m not allowed to bitch about our support just like everybody else does.  You would think that I’d have some inside track to get it fixed…but that’s like saying that because he’s on the ship, a penguin could make it go to Antarctica (or…Madagascar)

Anyway, here was the deal – I’ve been trying to write posts, to keep the blog going, but every time I’d start to type, WLW would freeze and think for a 30 seconds, and then come back, then freeze again, then come back.  It was getting REALLY annoying.  So being the good little geek that I am, I dug out Process Monitor and started to look and see what it was doing.  Turns out it kept hanging trying to connect to the offline file folder which holds my My Documents (which includes My Blogs) directories.  So let’s go to step 2, and move them to a “local” partition – yes, offline folders and all that, but let’s give it a shot.

Problem number 1 – You cannot move the storage location for drafts to a different folder.  It HAS to be inside of MY DOCUMENTS.  In fact, I even hacked around in the registry, and there isn’t even any entry in there.  I’m sure it’s hard coded somewhere.  That’s just dumb.

Ok, so clickity click and off to the “Windows Live Writer” support.  Enter your name, e-mail address, e-mail again, OS version, IE version, blog hoster, type of problem, describe the problem in detail, etc…

Now – I will give the support guys some props here – I filled out the form online at 9pm on Saturday night, and got a response at 3pm on Sunday afternoon.  That’s pretty damn good.

Of course, then I read the suggestion – Please uninstall and reinstall WLW!

Oh give me a break!  You know that you’ve been dogfooding at Microsoft too long when you invalidate the first two steps of MCSE troubleshooting:

  1. Reboot
  2. Reinstall

But seriously, that irked.  Even worse, is the message game with 2 sets of instructions for uninstalling, one for XP and the other for Vista (HEY, I already told you I’m running Vista!).  Then 4 separate sets of instructions on re-installing, depending on whether I wanted a new blog (nope, already told ya), had an existing blog (yup), was using a Spaces blog (nope), or was setting up a Sharepoint blog (double-nope).  Did they even read the message I sent?

I know the answer – yes, they did, and this is their cut/paste boilerplate response.

You would think that there would be technology to help them generate an APPROPRIATE boilerplate response…  Heck, it was probably a bot that sent them mail telling me to reinstall in the first place!

Ok, rant’s over…  but yeah, you can probably tell from the number of blogs that have come out tonight – it worked.

I hate that.

Leave a Reply

 
