BPuhl’s Blog

A little bit of everything without actually being much of anything

Welcome to the 21st Century

Posted by BPuhl on December 14, 2007

There are a ton of new features in every piece of software, most of which go unused.  So “Welcome to the 21st Century”, Brian’s stories about how he’s discovered things that everybody else probably already knew. 

The bar for a 21st century post, is when I go “well, duh” when I discover some infinitely easier way to do something that i’ve been doing the hard way for a while.

For today, I would like to show you my latest discovery which is used to manage “time”.  Sure, we all know about the little clock down in the system tray, but I’ve been travelling a lot this year and so having multiple clocks for different time zones has been key.  In fact, until recently, I sacrificed a large chunk of my Vista sidebar to tracking “time”

img1

The other night, I “discovered” that there is an “Additional Clocks” tab when you go into the date/time settings page – BRILLIANT!  (yeah, that was my “duh” moment).

After reclaiming my sidebar space, I can now mouse-over and to get a quick peek

img2

or click and get

img3

One Response to “Welcome to the 21st Century”

  1. […] I’m starting to enjoy this 21st century thing though […]

Leave a Reply

 
