BPuhl’s Blog

A little bit of everything without actually being much of anything

Copy of my invoice please

Posted by BPuhl on November 27, 2007

Ok, how hard is it for a hotel to send a copy of the invoice for a stay to an e-mail address?  I would actually UNDERSTAND if they said that they couldn’t do it at all, but I just got off the phone with the Sheraton in London where I stayed recently, and the conversation went like this:

Agent:  Ok I see here where we have your invoice Mr. Puhl.  And it looks like we have your e-mail address as well in the system.

Me:  Thanks, can you verify the e-mail address you have?

Agent:  Yes, we have brian.puhl-at-microsoft.com

Me:  Perfect, if you can send that e-mail I’d appreciate it.

Agent:  No problem, I’ll get that sent off for you within the next two hours

Two hours?  I’m sure I’m not the only customer she’s dealing with (although it’s 1am over there), but seriously – a 2 hour SLA for an e-mail? 

On the one hand, I’m glad that the hotel industry is embracing cutting edge technologies such as e-mail.  Not long ago, they would have asked for my fax number.

On the other hand, it will be nice when the day comes that – with the invoice on their screen – the agent at the front desk can hit “send” and be done with it.

Leave a Reply

 
