BPuhl’s Blog

A little bit of everything without actually being much of anything

New Blog

Posted by BPuhl on November 4, 2007

Ok, giving this a try again. 

So why would I try to blog again?  And since I had a perfectly good blog over at http://blogs.technet.com/bpuhl, why would I move it to WordPress?

When I started my blog, I thought that it was only going to be about things that were technical and interesting from my position as a geeky guy at Microsoft.  Turns out, that there were many times when I wanted to veer away from the technical stuff, started to write things down, and then didn’t think that it belonged on my blog because my blog was in the technet.com namespace.

Interestingly, when I was hired, there was very little guidance and almost no published policy around blogging.  When I set up my blog account on technet, there were very few usage rules, etc…  But personally, I feel that it was my professional “duty” as a Microsoft employee with a blog on Technet that prevented me from posting many of the things that I wanted to.  In fact, I DID actually post some rather random things for a while, and the pushback from the readers was rather…”interesting”

So in the interest of having the freedom to post whatever I damn well please, I’m moving all the content from my old blog to the new one, and will try to be better about posting here.

For those of you that really only care about the geeky/technical posts, I’ll try to accurately tag all of my posts so you can sort and filter as you wish.

Thanks for reading (at least this far),

Brian

Leave a Reply

 
