BPuhl’s Blog

A little bit of everything without actually being much of anything

AD Admin Center

Posted by BPuhl on August 29, 2009

Anyone else started to play with the new Active Directory Administrative Center in the Windows 7 RSAT tools yet?  Here are my first impressions:

  • Much easier to deal with multiple domains, especially when you’re looking to get to the FOO OU that’s buried 3 deep into each of 8 domains
  • How can I make it load faster?
  • I’ve been trained for so long, to type DSA.MSC to get to ADUC, that it never occurred to me that D, S, and A are a roll of the left hand fingers across the keyboard.  Now it’s DSAC.MSC, and I’m constantly entertained at how my fingers just refuse to get in that last “C”
  • hVery annoyed that it’s actually NOT dsac.msc like I just said, but instead it’s DSAC.EXE – seriously? EXE? More training

Still need to play with it some more to figure it out, but I’m working on a project now where I needed to deal with a bunch of OU’s across multiple domains, so the ability to add starting nodes was uber-helpful – 2 thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

